[NEWS] Exclusive Big Bang “Monster”+ "Bingle Bingle" Review by Soompi! (120601)

| Friday, June 1

  • Composed by: G-Dragon, Choi Pil Kang
  • Written by: G-Dragon
  • Arranged by: Choi Pil Kang, DEE.P
  • Additional Rap Written by T.O.P

“Lies” and “Haru Haru” are songs that drove Big Bang to their international success. In “Monster” the listener is brought back to that experience. It contains an upbeat tempo but the melody is sad throughout. G-Dragon is a monster. He shows his music-making genius in this signature Big Bang song, which has the complexity of rock operas.

The instrumental contains both piano and orchestra sounds very similar to “Lies” or “Haru Haru.” The song interchanges between a faster upbeat tempo for the rap, then slows down during the chorus. The beauty of the song is its simplicity. The piano sounds that play throughout the song somehow manages to drive the song.

The lyrics of the song are very poetic and show how G-Dragon and T.O.P have matured. Imagine you are listening to pieces of a puzzle, the song requires one to listen several times over in order to grasp the story that G-Dragon is trying to tell. What is the true meaning behind, “Monster?”

The song begins with a rap that switches between T.O.P and G-Dragon. Then during the song the two have rap parts. Their rap styles are very different but fit in with the general flow of the song.

Taeyang, Seungri, and Daesung feature off their signature vocals in the song but because of the lyrics it seems like they are vocalizing the different thoughts that are going on in the mind of the protagonist.

>>"Bingle Bingle"
  • Composed by: Teddy, G-Dragon, Seo Won Jin
  • Written by: G-Dragon
  • Arranged by: Teddy, Seo Won Jin
  • Additional Rap Written by T.O.P
“Bingle Bingle” is the other freshly new song besides the title song “Monster.” The two contrast in that “Monster” is very moody and “Bingle Bingle” is a refreshing summer song. “Bingle Bingle” is an upbeat song that people can party and dance the night away to.

The sound is very playful because it contains electronic guitar riffs and other electronic sounds that are reminiscent of Katy Perry or Daft Punk songs. These sounds are electronic but give a retro feel to the song. Due to the electronic guitar riffs, it appears that G-Dragon is experimenting and trying out new sounds. The chorus of the song is once again very addicting and simple.

The playful background music is juxtaposed with the painful lyrics. A guy is stuck in a relationship where he isn’t considered an “official lover.” The song is the protagonist’s plea to his lover to take the next step in the relationship instead of making him go around in circles.

T.O.P and G-Dragon’s rap is very different in this song. The two sound demanding and powerful, due to the mixed use of a megaphone and auto tune. While the other members such as Taeyang, Daesung, and Seungri sound very playful with their vocals, despite the fact that they are singing about having headaches and being heartbroken.

Stay tuned for #DAEMONSTER teaser soon!

Source: @soompi//bbupdatesTV@YT


Post a Comment

for BigBangWORLD


Copyright © 2010 BIGBANGWORLD